Silence

a bare branch of a rose

I shall talk to the fish
if I am to remain silent.
The seagull may tell me his story
if I am to remain silent.
The sea may reveal its blueness
if I am to remain silent.
The rock may introduce its shape
if I am to remain silent.
The breeze may whisper in my ear
if I am to remain silent.
The sun may be hidden
if I am to remain silent.
The boat may travel the ocean
if I am to remain silent.
The soul may ask for voice
if I am to remain silent.
The book may scream from its page
if I am to remain silent.
You, my Lord, may talk to me
for I cannot be silent before Thee.

© Iva Beranek (Zagreb, this is my first poem in English, probably 20 years old)
Photo by © Iva Beranek

A penny for your thoughts...

