Taming a dragon 

woman taming a dragon

I know dragons don’t exist
but I tamed a dragon
in my mind
he came from ancient past
hoarded gold
in his cave
captivated a castle
took a noble name

I tamed him
with a smile
his shell fell off
and a human appeared
I tamed you
released you from
your fear

I tamed a dragon
out of his sleep
unaware that he
wasn’t real
he wanted to attack
I showed him a mirror
I wonder what he saw
perhaps, afraid of himself
he decided to withdraw

I tamed a dragon
enemy became
a friend
but I only brought out
what always
was there

© Iva Beranek (Dublin, 17th June 2016)

2 thoughts on “Taming a dragon 

A penny for your thoughts...

