The house of cards

cards1

I collapsed like the house
of cards
memories spilled as if they were
marbles on the floor
rocket here and there
the heart broke
pieces of shattered
hopes
next to the bedroom door
but out of the rubble
that was my life
I picked myself up
and walked into the sunset
as if the sun just rose
beneath my steps
freer than a bird
that escaped from
the net

illusions have been
sisters of despair, so
I left them behind
to be able to breath
again

© Iva Beranek (Dublin, 23rd April 2016)

A penny for your thoughts...

