Novena to St. Patrick – Day 2

2015-05-09 19.41.24-1

Day 2: Transformed by the love of God

Patrick did not become who God intended him to be overnight. It took years for God’s plan to slowly enfold in his life. Patrick spent around six years in Ireland, minding sheep and cattle somewhere on the Irish hills. The Lord revealed Himself to Patrick in those solitary moments; His grace and the presence of Christ transformed what could have been an extremely awful experience of captivity by forming Patrick into one the greatest missionaries the world has known.

Patrick tells us: “The Lord there [in Ireland] made me aware of my unbelief that I might at last recognise my sins and turn wholeheartedly to the Lord my God. He showed concern for my weakness, and pity for my youth and ignorance; he watched over me before I got to know him and before I was able to distinguish good from evil. In fact he protected me and comforted me as a father would his son. I cannot be silent then, not indeed should I, about the great benefits and grace, which the Lord saw fit to confer on me in the land of my captivity”.

Today we pray that no matter what we may experience in life, no matter what pain or disappointment we may encounter, that God may transform it through His love and grace, and bring some good out of it. We especially pray for all those who suffer injustice and who find themselves in some sort of captivity – physical, emotional or spiritual – that the Lord may set them free.

A thought for the day (from St. Patrick’s Breastplate): “Christ be before me, Christ be behind me, Christ to shield me”.

© Iva Beranek (Dublin, March 2012)
Photo by © Iva Beranek

A penny for your thoughts...

