The wisdom of an orchid flower

orchids-March 2012

We can learn a lot from flowers. Orchids, for example, after they blossom gradually let go off their flowers and the branch that was previously fruitful often dries out. You can see it on this white orchid – the grey dried branch needs to be cut away, so that the plant may continue growing and be healthy. (I’ll go and cut it as soon as I post this little reflection) What amazes me with orchids is that they somehow get themselves ready for this letting go – you don’t cut the healthy green branch but only the one that started loosing life. Almost as if the flower tells you ‘here, cut here, and I’ll be fine’. In our own life too there are times when pruning has to happen. How do we prepare ourselves for this letting go? Are we ready to leave some things behind so that a new life may be able to grow? For us this pruning is often interior. 

Jesus told us in John 15: “I am the true vine, and my Father is the gardener. He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful. (..) I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.” – So, pruning is for our good. Sometimes the externals will be removed, but most often than not it is in fact our attitudes that need to change, while externally things may remain the same.

Jesus added: “I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be complete”.

© Iva Beranek (Dublin, 7th March 2012; I stumbled across my old reflection today)
Photo by © Iva Beranek

A penny for your thoughts...

