There is such a thing as carrot wine

Carrot-wine-pic

“Do you have mulled wine?”
“No, but our specialty is carrot wine. Would you like to try it?”
“Oh. Carrot wine? Yes, I would.”

The lady pours a little bit of the light orange wine into a tall wine glass… I taste it. It tastes surprisingly good. This is a little restaurant on the outskirts of Vienna, in Austria.

It is small but beautifully decorated. The white table cloth covering a large table makes it look very stylish, with different size wine glasses on the table; and some food.

A little insignificant detail is that I have new shoes. I admire them, as you do. Also, I never imagined there was such a thing as carrot wine, even more so that it tasted this good.

“I must write this on Facebook: Drinking carrot wine, in Vienna, Austria. Even though I don’t write much on Facebook nowadays, this is worth mentioning.”

Maybe you have already guessed; I woke up. Every little thing seemed so real, I could not believe it didn’t actually happen. Honestly, who has dreams like that? Carrot wine?! Where on earth did I get the idea about that one.

I google it, and surprise, surprise, there is such a thing as carrot wine (!). Apparently you can make it at home. If you are interested, have a look yourself. Since I have no intention of making it, I cannot recommend one recipe over another; I let you use your own judgement if you choose to give it a try.

But who would have thought it actually exists.

© Iva Beranek (Dublin, 20th February 2016)
Photo from here.

A penny for your thoughts...

