Autumn comes in whispers

2015-11-05 14.14.09-2

I used to love rain. I mean, really love. I tried to remind myself of this today as I stepped into the street while the rain was pouring down out of the sky. Umbrellas are useless in Ireland, they won’t serve you long, merely because the wind likes to play with them twisting them around and breaking them. My light-blue umbrella that I brought home from Croatia this summer had a brief encounter with the Irish wind and it broke. With no particular ritual of saying goodbye I parted from it, leaving it deserted in one of the bins in the centre of the town. I bought a new one and smiled, well at least we had a good weather so far.

In all fairness, the weather has been almost idilic in the last month. We had more sunshine this autumn than we normally do during the summer months. The leaves changed colour gradually, with the courage of a stern soldier whose mission is to compliment life they got ready to die. Yet their end has been crowned in glorious colours, as if rubies have visited the trees in order to shine in the shade of the leaves. Since I have turned this poetic, let me share with you a few verses I wrote recently.

“how lovely the leaves
in the autumn sun
like rubies of the trees
creating symphony
as they let go
their sighs become
a lullaby
in the wind”

Photography is poetry expressed through visual images. Let me show you some photos from the previous weeks, the glorious splendour of autumn, as it showed itself in gentle whispers of beauty.

2015-11-06 14.13.22-2

2015-11-01 15.24.25-5

2015-11-06 14.14.26-2

2015-10-10 13.41.08-3

© Iva Beranek
Photos by © Iva Beranek

A penny for your thoughts...

