Even crows need to eat

2015-03-29 18.49.08-2

This morning I saw a crow at my window. It squeaked with its sturdy peak as if it was unhappy with the bird food it found. It ate from a small ball of food I attached to the windowsill. I almost decided to remove the ball and put it onto another part of the house where smaller birds might come, merely because that is what my aunt would have done. She didn’t like big black birds. But I didn’t do it. Even the crows need to eat. So what about the stereotype?

What if they are black and big and most people cannot see their beauty? I won’t pretend I feel anything soft around my heart when I look at them, yet who am I to say which bird can eat the seeds I put there? Even crows are birds and birds are creatures that I love. So I fed a bird today, unknowingly.

© Iva Beranek (Dublin, 3rd October 2015)
Photo by © Iva Beranek

A penny for your thoughts...

