A barefoot walk on the grass

2015-03-28 15.32.20-2

It was a gorgeous sunny day; sometimes even during the summer it is not as nice as some of the autumn days have been. I went for a walk, and as there is a large field in front on my house I was enjoying the silence, the colours, when all of a sudden I decided I wanted to feel the earth. So I walked barefoot on the grass that day.

I walked past one of my favourite trees in the garden and remembered walking there last Christmas, in snow (not barefoot, though). I remembered what I was thinking and the feeling that was with me. It can be life-giving to revisit old familiar places in order to see how different we are now, and the feelings that accompany us change too. The roots of that tree spread wide, some were near the surface yet very strong. It is good to be well-rooted. 

That autumn I decided to thank the leaves for being green all through the year. None of them were there on Christmas; they were only in a bud being created in the silence. How brave they were to grow, how brave they would be to let go too. Most of them that day, on that tree, were still quite green, with only a few that turned red. Soon, they would all change colour, and fall. It was good to stop and enjoy a moment in the life of that tree. I felt rooted too, in this wonderful land where green abundantly brings peace.

I thought, sometimes soon perhaps I would repeat my walk remembering how it was to feel the grass; with other thoughts and feelings by my side, yet still passing by that good old tree, to let it inspire fresh insights and create new memories.

© Iva Beranek (Dublin, 2011)
Photo by © Iva Beranek

2 thoughts on “A barefoot walk on the grass

  1. I don’t know why, but when I woke today, your name popped into my head. This is a lovely post, and a beautiful tree to inspire many thoughts. I pray that you are well and enjoying more beauty today.

A penny for your thoughts...

