Here’s that song again

coffee shop-Zagreb

I am sitting in a coffee shop and for the last hour they have been playing the same song over and over again. It’s a swing song, and yes it is nice if you listen to it once, or twice, but 20, 30, 50, innumerable times. It’s clearly TOO MUCH.

After the first half hour I increasingly started paying attention to it and its beats started to annoy me. ‘Ta-ta-rata…la la la…’, drums, trumpets, the whole orchestra of sounds. Then all of a sudden I’ve noticed the song finished. I waited for a second in hope, but then, you’re guessing, it started all over again.

Now, I don’t have anything profound to add to this reflection. The moral of the story? I don’t know. I’m wondering, how come the workers don’t get annoyed by it. It’s like being stuck in the 50’s and you keep repeating 5 minutes of your life – over and over and over again.

I took a break from writing this. I read a few articles and my thoughts went elsewhere. That’s it! You are not supposed to be focused on the song in the first place. The coffee shop is designed to be busy enough, with people coming and going, chatting, outside too there is a good flow of people. I am sure people don’t really notice that there is the same song played in the background.

Oh you know what happened then? One of the people working in the coffee shop took the remote control and stopped it. “Oh, oops”, I thought, “I hope she didn’t see what I was writing”. When the music started, was a different song on the menu? Guess.

Nope. Haha! The same … song – again. Ah, well. If that’s not funny, I don’t know what is. Actually, now the song changed, but it still has the same beats.

The end.

© Iva Beranek (Dublin, 2015)
Photo by © Iva Beranek

One thought on “Here’s that song again

A penny for your thoughts...

