Through the rabbit hole

2015-03-28 15.32.20-2

I just started a Facebook page to share my writing and photography. In order to access it myself I have to go to it through my own private Facebook account. It makes me feel as if I am going through the rabbit hole into a wonderland. Yet when you think of it, writing or any other creative process in fact resembles this mysterious journey through the rabbit hole. You never quite know where writing will take you. In life also we don’t quite know where the journey will lead, and still in this mystery and unknowing often lays a gift.

But I guess it helps if deep down in our hearts we do know where we wish to go, even if we don’t quite know how to get there. In religious language this would be known as ‘answering a call’. Having an inkling, an intuition inside your heart and then following it as best you can; even though the journey will most likely surprise us and there is no possible way for any one of us to predict all the roads we will have to take. It is probably a bit too late at the moment to write about this topic in any real depth. All sorts of thoughts come to me, clarifying or rather deepening this idea of the inner call, but knowing it is past midnight I am aware that if I went addressing them while my mind is not fully alert I would probably get all mixed up (I am getting all mixed up even with explaining this). I might pick up this theme at another time, but for now you will have to forgive me for opening up this idea and then leaving it unfinished on the horizon of my paper.

It is quite striking, though, that the answer about a direction we aught to take in life will depend on a very simple question, “Where do you want to go in the first place?” As Lewis Carroll portrays,

“Alice: Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?
The Cheshire Cat: That depends a good deal on where you want to get to.
Alice: I don’t much care where.
The Cheshire Cat: Then it doesn’t much matter which way you go.
Alice: …So long as I get somewhere.
The Cheshire Cat: Oh, you’re sure to do that, if only you walk long enough.”
(from “Alice in the Wonderland”)

Now, what if where you wanted to go seemed a little bit ‘impossible’ from where you are at present? What would you need to change to get there? You don’t have to tell me, but think about it. Sure, I will too. Not this very minute, one can’t think too much at this time of the night. Which reminds me of another random quote from Alice’s adventures in the Wonderland.

“Alice laughed. ‘There’s no use trying,’ she said: ‘one can’t believe impossible things.’

‘I daresay you haven’t had much practice,’ said the Queen. ‘When I was your age, I always did it for half-an-hour a day. Why, sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.”

So, lets do that tomorrow. I challenge you (and me!) to practice believing impossible things. Which impossible things will you practice believing in tomorrow at breakfast?

© Iva Beranek (Dublin, 19th June 2015)
Photo by © Iva Beranek

One thought on “Through the rabbit hole

  1. I literally quoted this to myself a year ago and ha d in mind the six things I needed to believe. I asked God today, while watching a rabbit in my yard, why I still feel like I’m falling. Thank you for this – it is really an answer to prayer. Now I just need to rethink those six things. 😀

A penny for your thoughts...

