Incy wincy spider, this one was not on the wall

2015-06-20 14.37.49-2

He climbed on my bed and that’s the last thing he saw
For the incy wincy spider in now no more

I am not a spider lover, though I know at least one person who is. If she will read this she will be mortified (sorry). And then yet again, I know many more of those who don’t like them one bit. Now how do you write something about spiders to make it entertaining and that it doesn’t resound the common nursery rhyme. If you recall it, while reading this, you will most likely be sining it all day, so don’t recall it. Though my opening lines won’t help in this regard.

A rainy Sunday morning. I woke up and before making coffee and enjoying healthy home-made snacks I made, I went to make my bed. And there he was. Staring on the top of the duvet towards where my pillows are. Where was he just a few minutes earlier!? I wondered, not really wanting to know the answer. He looked as if he was saying, “Is that it? No more sleep? So what are we going to do now?”

We?! Sorry fella, I don’t know where you came from but you’ve got the wrong idea. Yes, we exchanged all that in just 2 seconds, for as soon as I realised where and WHAT, I mean ‘who?’ was where spiders are not meant to be, I grabbed him (not too harshly) and put him in the bin. Ouch, says the spider lover. I told you this won’t be an enjoyable read for you! But what are you supposed to be doing with a spider, offer him coffee? Well, actually, yes – my friend would do that. Anyway, this is turning into the stream of consciousness, which might be amusing, but not what I had in mind.

So, there was a spider on my bed this morning and as one of my housemates said, he started my day and I ended his. Though when I emptied the bin I didn’t see him, which means he could be anywhere now, even by some strange chance still alive. Check your own bed, cause he might be crawling up your own leg and up on the sofa next to you, wondering why you are reading about him in someone else’s house when you can write your story now too.

The end.

© Iva Beranek (Dublin, 12th April 2015)
Photo by © Iva Beranek

7 thoughts on “Incy wincy spider, this one was not on the wall

  1. How dare you! Claim he’s in my bed crawling up my leg! My imagination is too vivid for that, you rascally writer, you–I have to call someone…my spider getter, to handle those situations. I trained up my kids (and grandkids) to be spider getters. The only one left to get them here is now my husband. Even if it’s 3am and I happen to see one in the bathroom. I wake him up. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Versatile Award Nomination | Scribbles to Compositions

A penny for your thoughts...

