I came to your hill

2015-03-17 19.03.05-2

I came to your hill
to light a fire
on the flame of
God’s love
I came to kneel
before my past
before all that ever was
imprinted on my
heart

I followed footsteps
in the night
that led me to your
light
so I came to your hill
to ask direction,
a way home
as the one to which
I belonged
was taken away
and I felt all
alone

As I knelt
a tear strolled
down my cheek
and kissed the ground
that held me
in its safe arms
God looked from above
and smiled
but I could not see
as tear after tear
rolled down my face
blurred my vision
dimmed my sight
purifying the sadness
that nested inside
my heart

I longed for a song
that will rise inside
my soul
but every sound went
mute
and silence filled the air
it’s not yet time to sing
out of this despair

Yet in this darkness
stark as the bosom
of the night
while I could not see
a soft flame was lit
inside of
me
in the farthest
depths of my
heart

A song of relief
I could not
yet sing
would take a while
to rise
but a bird flew
to a near-by tree
and sang a song
giving voice to all
I had hidden
inside
every hope,
every sigh of love
and loss
compassionately she
put it in a song

Tear after tear
still fell down my
cheeks
as my body shivering
was being clothed
with the shadow
of the night

© Iva Beranek (Dublin, 18th March 2015)

One thought on “I came to your hill

A penny for your thoughts...

