I want to arise

Tree and the star by Iva B.

In the middle of the night
I plead for your light,
in my soul there used to be
a sunrise
shining like a diamond
from within my heart
but since the Sun has set
with every loss
every ache of the heart
love has remained alone
like an ocean in the storm
but all else is somehow
lost to the night

all the trace of the path
that used to appear
beneath my feet
is now long gone
yet you bid me to
carry on

In the mist,
in the rain,
in sunshine
or whatever may befall
the soft voice
inside my heart
travels through the empty spaces
between the noises
I carry inside

gently, he tells me,
that like a snowdrop
coming out of the winter snow
I too shall
arise
and the winter of my life
that seemed very long
will surrender to
new life
and the Sun shall
rise again
inside
my soul

© Iva Beranek (Dublin, 17th March 2015)
Photo by © Iva Beranek

A penny for your thoughts...

