“Courage, dear heart”

Fairytale tree by Iva B.

I love books that influence your thinking in such a way that your life is enriched in the process. Though true would be just to say a much simpler statement, one that is already included in the previous one: I love books. Don’t you? Inside their pages books carry so much mystery, creativity, inspiration, knowledge, and brilliance of the human spirit.

If I journey to my childhood, in memory obviously as that is the only means of travelling to the past that I can access at the moment, I recall books I read, songs I listened to as I was growing up. As a teenager I remember reading “The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole” by Sue Townsend, and its sequels, while I listened to the Swedish band “Roxette”. Did you ever experience remembering events from your past and they seem like someone else’s memories in your head? Merely because you have moved on, changed, and hopefully grown, so remembering certain things you did or loved long ago no longer represent who you are now. Yet, those events may have been like small stepping stones that carved your path. Some of them will have a lasting influence and their wisdom may linger for a while and even emerge inside your heart many times throughout your life, whereas some memories simply are lived through once and then they stay in the past. They no longer express who you are, they are but a part of your story, of chapters that are now left behind in the years that have gone by. Maybe that’s what it means to ‘grow up’. Like in a book, you live through chapter after chapter after chapter, some intertwine, others are done and over with in order that new chapter, part 2 or 3 or 4 may come, each representing different seasons in your life.

Now, if I am honest I would admit I have no idea what I am trying to write about here.
The inspiration came from an image with the quote that I saw and then I let my thoughts carry me like waves of an uncharted sea. What I saw said: “Courage, dear heart, and the voice, she felt sure, was Aslan’s.” This spoke to my heart.

Courage, Dear heart - from Narnia

This quote is from “The Chronicles of Narnia” by C. S. Lewis, which happens to be one of my favourite books of all times. Over the course of a lifetime some books, same as some experiences we go through, will stick out. Those books nurture your life long after you’ve read them. Perhaps the nature of their creativity is a reason for their long-lasting influence, though I would also say that they probably express (at least) snippets of truth that touch our hearts and nurture us in depths whenever we remember the sentiments from their pages. Perhaps their words shed light on our lives, like lanterns that bring light onto our path. Aldous Huxley said that “words can be like rays. When they are used properly, they are able to get through anything”.

Can you recall when someone’s words, in real life or from books, got through to your heart? (take time to ponder on it, it may be worth it)

“Courage, dear heart”, said God. Like droplets of soft rain falling on a fertile ground, my soul took in these words and smiled. Yes, courage indeed. Let us go and explore the beauty that is hidden in this life. After all, even the beauty and wisdom that come out of a fairytale, are rooted in the real world. In our world too, same as in Narnia, God hides, with many doors leading towards the depth of life that He offers us.

© Iva Beranek (Dublin, 13th March 2015)
Photo by © Iv a Beranek

A penny for your thoughts...

